I’m a designer. Use me better.

5 10 2007

iwantdesigners31.jpg

I love this speech given by Ben Terrett at the Applied Green conference in London. Ben is a Graphic Designer.

His words are great inspiration for seeing our jobs in a bigger context. And pushing us creative thinkers to form more equal relationships with business people. We need to use our creative noggins to help clients to not make decisions out of fear. In this speech, he turns fear of climate change into an opportunity to be smarter. If we can stop designing for the hell of it but instead design as a way of thinking, we can earn our place at the table.

In his own words,

“If you ask Porsche about their sustainability policy they will proudly tell you that 60% of all Porsches ever made are still on the road today.

Think about that for a bit.

Now you might think that a gas guzzling 4.8 litre car can never be environmentally friendly, but just think about that stat for a bit. What they’re saying is that 60% of the stuff we’ve made is so desirable, so well put together, so well designed, that people are still using them.

Imagine if 60% of other stuff was still in use. I don’t know about you, but I’d be happy if 60% of the iPods I’d owned were still working.

Imagine if 60% of carrier bags were still being used. Imagine if 60% of computers were still in use today. 60% of food packaging was still in use.

I keep having this thought that the best design minds in history would see Climate Change as an amazing opportunity. Don’t you get the feeling Da Vinci could have knocked up an alternative fuel in his spare time?”

Actions

Information

One response

9 10 2007
Randall Erkelens

Heck, I recycle 60% of my ideas daily. I’m glad I’m doing my part.

Leave a Reply

